Quarterly Conferences

DoctrineDisciplineThe Quarterly Conference shall consist of the traveling preachers on a circuit or station, supernumeraries, retired ministers, local preachers, exhorters, stewards, stewardesses, trustees, class leaders, general officers, deaconesses, licensed missionary workers, evangelists and the superintendent of the Church School, the presidents of the A.C.E. Fellowship and missionary societies, administrators of the A.M.E. institutions, organizations and agencies, provided the latter are members of the A.M.E. Church. The head of each auxiliary shall be answerable to the Quarterly Conference for his or her official conduct.

The sessions of the Quarterly Conference shall be held every three months, or four times a year, in every circuit and in every station. The time and place of meetings shall be selected by the presiding elder after consultation with the pastor. If there is no presiding elder, the time and place shall be selected by the pastor. Where there is no pastor, the presiding elder shall select the time and place of the meeting. At each Conference there shall be a secretary or secretaries elected who shall faithfully and carefully record the proceedings, in a suitable book, which shall be preserved by the Stewards. If no efficient secretary can be obtained, the pastor or presiding elder shall act as secretary of the Quarterly Conference. A steward shall be elected at the first Quarterly Conference to represent the church at the District Conference.  

Source: 2012 Doctrine and Discipline of the African Methodist Episcopal Church

Read 1830 times